intermittent posts on sewing, knitting, gardening, healthy eating and other random topics from two sisters

Bento
Uploaded with Skitch!

At the top, turquoise silk dupioni which I love, my first expensive fabric purchase. The brocade is actually turquoise-on-turquoise instead of the turquoise on pale gold the camera brought out. I am hoping to squeeze dresses out of only two yards, for both of these. (I did test McCalls 5799 to produce an a-line sheath that requires only two yards of 52 inch fabric without nap, but am not sure how many fancy turquoise dresses I could possibly use even if I can make them fit.)

The solid stretch cotton is NOT theoretical—I made a skirt from it, and plan to maybe use the remainder to do the midriff panel on a sundress using the lightweight embroidered cotton for skirt and bodice, imagining something like New Look 6675 or Vogue 8470. Both fabrics are from the same collection, picked up at 70% off at Joann’s, so they match perfectly. I have 4 yards of the embroidered cotton, so will use it on a full-skirted dress, and am thinking switching to a solid for the midriff will be slimming.

The garden print in the middle is my sheet-set from my high-school bedroom—it might not be worthy of much more than an apron, or perhaps a tiered summer skirt. The missing picture is a basic ribbed knit that I did a rather baggy tank top in but have found impossible to get an accurate picture of.

The last picture, again is more turquoise in real life than the camera allows. It’s a rayon batik with brown flowers that I bought in a panic when the owners of my local fabric store decided to retire, and I realized feeling more rayon batik would require a two hour drive. I may buy more rayon batik, as the shelves have been thinning out lately, invoking my hoarding instincts.

The picture is a screenshot from Bento, a Mac-only (and iPhone) home database application that I use to track fabric, notions, patterns, projects, and gifts, etc.

Post inspired by Purplicity and Theoretical Clothes from Elizabeth at Sew a Beginner.

Comments on: "My Turquoise Stash and Theoretical Clothes" (2)

  1. So glad I could help inspire! I love your turquoise brocade. I think it would make a lovely dress. I have been on the lookout for another brocade lately. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment! I’m trying to develop the blogging habit, but am very sporadic.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

