intermittent posts on sewing, knitting, gardening, healthy eating and other random topics from two sisters

I took my first sewing class on February 9th of 2010, so this seems like a good moment to look back over the year. After just one class—working on the Bernina Seams Inside Out bag—I was hooked (because I had a great teacher, Millie who is now at Paramount Sewing after my original Local Fabric Shop closed), and moved onto a pillowcase and then skirts. Here’s some numbers for the year, pulled from my handy-dandy Bento sewing database.

Completed projects: 64. The highlights are two dresses, a purse, and about 13 skirts that have entered regular rotation in my wardrobe, but some of these “projects” are as simple as a zipper bag with unfinished seams.

Projects in progress: 8. Mostly things I am having problems fitting. I hate fitting.

Projects that were wadders or muslins: 11. Some of the in-progress ones ought to be moved to this category, I suspect. Note that I don’t have a UFO category. I have projects that have been “in progress” since April.

Projects intended for material in my stash: 39. Hmm. That’s a long and ever growing list. It doesn’t even include the three cotton lawns I just bought specifically to make more Pendrells.

Fabric purchased or otherwise acquired: about 320 yards. This includes some funky counting a sheet from Goodwill to make muslins as 1 yard. I think I have 8 plastic bins worth of unused fabric. I also have about 75 colors of thread in stash.

Fabric used: 60 yards. At current rate, if I stop acquiring, it will only take me 5 years to sew down my stash. Not enough of a cushion! Nowhere near SABLE! (Stash Accumulation Beyond Lifetime Expectancy)

Patterns purchased: 58. Not counting various tutorials or patterns downloaded from the web, just the main commercial patterns.

Patterns used thus far: 8. Pretty sad. But since I have taken a custom pants-fitting class, and am going to take a dress-fitting class, to generate patterns customized to me, I expect to cut back on the pattern accumulation a fair bit. Less buying on spec when things are on sale, and more buying to get instructions on very specific design details that I can copy to my custom patterns.

Comments on: "Taking Stock: One Year of Sewing" (2)

  1. Wow – that’s quite a stash for 1 year of sewing 🙂 But it does seem that you’re making the most of it with all of those projects. I’m a bit of a pattern addict, myself.

  2. whatsupcupcake said:

    Those are some pretty impressive numbers! But I’m looking forward to seeing what you create. And to seeing you at more local events! Glad I finally found your blog and it was great seeing you again last night!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

